Saturday, February 27 English EN French FR

Andre Onana voted best goalkeeper in the Dutch Premier League, The Eredivisie (2016/17 Season)

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Andre Onana, the Ajax Amsterdam’s Cameroonian goalkeeper has won the Tonny van Leeuwen Award, which rewards the best goalkeeper in the Dutch Premier League.

Andre Onana

Andre Onana

Andre Onana, the young Ajax Amsterdam player received the Tonny van Leeuwen Trophy, which rewards the best goalkeeper of the Dutch Premier League Championship. The progeny of Van Der Sar, former star goalkeeper of the Netherlands national team and Manchester United, now managing director of Ajax, is the first foreign player and the second player of the Amsterdam club (after Heinz Stuy in 1973) to win this award.

Also Read : Vincent Aboubakar, Christian Bassogog & Fabrice Ondoa Amongst 30 Man Short List for 2017 African Player of the Year

Note that Teunis Pieter (Tonny) van Leeuwen was a Dutch international. He was a successful goalkeeper at Sparta and GVAV , and played for the Dutch national. Considered a great talent, his career came to an abrupt end when he died in 1971. It is therefore to salute his memory that the prize was created in his name. And the first to win it was Piet Schrijvers of FC Twente, in 1972. While the last foreign winner before Andre Onana, was Hans van Breukelen of PSV in 1987. It was therefore necessary to wait thirty years, before seeing what prize out of the drawer will be awarded to the young Indomitable Lion. He is also in the running for the next edition of the 2017 IFFHS Awards.

The only Cameroonian to ever ranked in the category of the best goaltenders in Europe, he is competing for the title with Manuel Neuer (Bayern / Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus / Italy), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea / Belgium), Keylor Navas ( Real Madrid / Costa Rica), David de Gea (Manchester United / Spain) and Ederson (Manchester City / Brazil).¬†The awards are organized by FIFA’s International¬†Federation for Football History and Statistics (¬†IFFHS¬†),¬†which provides updated statistics on football players and teams around the world.¬†The results will be known on November 15, 2017.




About Author


Passionate Cameroonian blogger, Critical Writer, Web developer and IT consultant at LechTech Web Design Agency ( CEO, founder and Editor-in-Chief at Camer infoline.

Comments are closed.